Every year, Campbell River residents are recognized for their outstanding environmental achievements as part of the City of Campbell River Stewardship Awards Program.  The Stewardship Awards started in 2001 and have been presented to individuals, groups, developers, businesses, industry representative and youth for their contribution to environmental protection. The awards are presented at the Haig-Brown Festival at the end of September.  The festival, hosted by the Museum, is a celebration of both World Rivers Day and the environmental and social causes championed by the Haig-Brown family, including conservation, fly-fishing, arts and literature, and social issues. The award categories include:

  • Air Quality / Alternative Transportation
  • Pesticide Free / Urban Agriculture
  • Water / Energy Conservation
  • Habitat Protection / Creation 
  • Waste Reduction
  • Youth Special Recognition 
  • Environmental Excellence

Click here to learn more or nominate someone for the 2015 Stewardship Awards.

Past Stewardship Award Winners


Air Quality / Alternative Transportation: Norbert Meding 

Pesticide Free / Urban Agriculture: Campbellton Neighbourhood Association
Habitat Protection/Creation: The Tyee Club of British Columbia
Youth Special Recognition: Jacob Hicks
Environmental Excellence: Barry Peters


Air Quality / Alternative Transportation: Don Johnson   
Pesticide Free / Urban Agriculture: Connie Kretz
Water/Energy Conservation: Luisa Richardson
Habitat Protection/Creation: Cynthia Bendickson
Waste Reduction: Patti Mertz - CR Hospital Foundation
Youth Special Recognition: Manesha Bains
Environmental Excellence: Marjorie Greaves


Air Quality / Alternative Transportation: Clean Sweep Chimneys    
Pesticide Free / Urban Agriculture: Chelsea Holley
Water/Energy Conservation: The Loeb family
(Jeremy, Jennifer, Gideon, Hannah and Daniel)
Habitat Protection/Creation: Clay Carlson 
Waste Reduction: Kathleen Sharpe and Bud Logan
Youth Special Recognition: Ecole Phoenix Grade 6/7,
teacher Dionne Lapointe-Bakota
Environmental Excellence: Leona Adams

Air Quality: Julie Stewart, Quality Stoves & Fireplaces Ltd     Pesticide Free: Jason Price – Campbell River Indian Band
Water/Energy Conservation: Ray and Mary Ann Dupuis
Habitat Protection/Creation: Irv Penner
Waste Reduction: Bains Family
Youth Special Recognition: Danielle Myers –
Recent Timberline Graduate
Environmental Excellence: Kira DeSorcy 

Air Quality: Guardian Chimney Services 
Pesticide Free: Elaine Jansen, the “Compost Diva”
Water/Energy Conservation:
School District 72 –
Steve Woods, Manager of Operations Recipient
Habitat Protection/Creation:
Tom Easton
Waste Reduction:
Susan Black Clean Living Initiative
Youth Special Recognition:
1st Willow Point Scout Group
Environmental Excellence:  
Morgan Ostler 

Individual Category:  Jamie Alguire
Development, Business & Industry: Dan Sampson,
Parkway Properties
Group: Ms. Dominique  Joyal, School District 93
Youth Individual: Rupert Love
Youth Group: Nigel Lambeth
Special Recognition:  Jim Dubois

Individual Category: Roy Myers, James Smith
Development, Business & Industry: Luisa Richardson, Environmental Educator
Group: River City Cycle Club including Tom Porsborg
Youth Individual: Mike Pickford
Youth Group: Carihi Green Team
Special Recognition:  Sandra Milligan

What's New
Nov 01, 2018 New marine habitat
Nov 02, 2017 CRadvantage goes live!
Jul 25, 2017 Chalkfest returns!
Jun 30, 2017 Celebrate Canada Day!
Jan 09, 2017 2016 Year-in-Review
Dec 20, 2016 Tourism update!
Nov 16, 2016 Fire Chief for a Day
Oct 11, 2016 Afternoon garage fire
Sep 20, 2013 Walk-ability Survey
Sep 20, 2013 Tidemark grant in aid
Sep 21, 2013 ECAP
Sep 21, 2013 George Paul Passing
Sep 21, 2013 MyCity info update
Sep 21, 2013 Seed saving
Oct 08, 2013 Fire Prevention Week
Feb 24, 2014 Roads Update
Sep 24, 2014 Fall Fire Safety
Dec 18, 2014 Fawn Rd. house fire
Feb 06, 2015 Fire crews kept busy
Feb 26, 2015 Mobile home fire
Jun 26, 2015 New art summer camps
Dec 04, 2015 Storm Warning!
Jan 04, 2016 Jan. 1 City Currents
Jan 07, 2016 New Robron Field open!
Upcoming Events